Reference service is available
Monday - Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
History and Languages Department
1301 Olive St.
Saint Louis MO, 63103
History and Languages
(314) 539-0375
history@slpl.org
2nd and 4th Thursdays, 5:30pm–7:300pm
Event location: Central Library, History and Languages Room
Shall we play a game? Join us for epic board game adventures at St. Louis Public Library’s Board Games @ Central!
Running late? No problem! Feel free to roll in (pun intended) whenever you can. Games will be going strong until closing time, and friendly faces await.
All gamers are welcome, from seasoned veterans to curious beginners. We've got plenty of space for your biggest, most complex games that you struggle to get on the table. We also have space for all the fun little games you have too. Don't have a game? Explore our massive game library of over 100 board games, card games, and tabletop roleplaying games.
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the general public has access to government information. Since 1813, various libraries have agreed to safeguarded the public's right to knowledge by collecting, maintaining, and assisting users with information from the Federal Government. The FDLP provides U.S. Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries. These depository libraries then provide free access to Government information.
The Saint Louis Public Library became a depository library back in 1866. Since that time the Library has received several million documents in a variety of formats; microfilm, microfiche, print, CD, DVD, VHS, etc. These items are stored at an offsite location near Central Library and most cataloged items are requestable through our online catalog. While a significant number of our older documents are not yet cataloged, we are actively working to add them.
| Resource | Description |
|---|---|
| Assistance Listings | Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals. |
| Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government | Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics. |
| Budget of the United States Government | Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year. |
| Catalog of U.S. Government Publications | A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online. |
| Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) | The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government. |
|
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. |
|
|
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public. . |
|
|
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition.) |
|
| The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation | Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States. |
| Economic Indicators | Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. |
| The Economic Report of the President to the Congress | An annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices. |
| Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov) | A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. |
| Federal Register | The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders. |
| GovInfo | A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government. |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) | A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers. |
| Official Congressional Directory | Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content. |
| Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States | Official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. |
| Social Security Handbook | Resource for the most common questions about Social Security. |
| United States Code | The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles. |
| The United States Government Manual | The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees. |
| United States Reports | Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. |
| United States Statutes at Large | Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress. |
| USA.gov | A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. USAGov en Español is also available. |
For an additional list including historic cornerstone documents, see GovInfo's Other Resources, previously known as Core Documents of Our Democracy.
Most of our cataloged government documents are able to be requested through our Catalog.
If you would like to set up a time to see one or more of our reference items, please contact us for an appointment.